Gayland, The Rainbow Country!


إقرأ هذه القصة بالعربية

How does homophobia affect me?

Homophobia is the first and foremost reason for which I have fights with people. Homophobia has made me truly hate many of my close friends and family members.

Since my existence revolves around gay people, homophobia sadly became a great part of my conversations, my life. I have memorized all of the reasons people tend to be homophobic and my biggest accomplishment is shutting up a super-genius nerd and making him understand how discriminating people based on their sexuality is just like judging him based on his grades.

On another hand, homophobia made me meet and connect with many amazing people still fighting their way out of the closet.

It has made me want to chase my dreams so that one day, I could change the world and hopefully be able to build Gayland, my dream rainbow country.

So again, how does homophobia affect me? Let me think, I used to be a girl who thought that the Church was all about love. Homophobia twisted my life around.

– Rita Aoun

_ _ _

banner by BeirutBoy (source)

This entry was posted in Personal Story and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Gayland, The Rainbow Country!

  1. Pingback: ست قصص جديدة تتصدى لرهاب المثليين والمثليات في لبنان « Raynbow Media Monitor

Leave a Reply

