Love is Love


إقرأ هذه القصة بالعربية
“Love is love”  is the phrase I grew up learning from my father who is gay and married to another man. Back then it seemed so simple, so sweet. Once I moved to Lebanon I got the chance to have my own life experiences. I realized just how true those three words were except not everyone saw it the way we had.
People changed the sound of the phrase, its meaning, even its color were starting to affect me and the way I felt about it. For many moments I felt strong enough to hold on to my image of the love I have for my girlfriend. But somehow, they seem to so easily step on it. It’s been very hard growing up with this lack of freedom to hold the hand of the only person who makes me smile, to be able to believe that someday I will be able to be more than the “just best friends” we pretend to be.
If only they would let us BE , I am sure we will be able to show them what that unconditional love they always mention is really all about. ❤
–  Paola
_ _ _
banner by BeirutBoy & friend (source)
About Raynbow Blog

Raynbow is a nonprofit group that raises awareness and funds to support the lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender (LGBT) movement in Lebanon. The Lebanese LGBT Media Monitor is a project by Raynbow to raise awareness and keep you informed about the latest developments from the LGBT community in Lebanon. Our online store: http://raynbow.net Our blog: http://raynbow.info Our Facebook Page: http://fb.com/LebLGBTmonitor Our Twitter handle @LebLGBTmonitor
This entry was posted in Personal Story and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Love is Love

  1. BiSexual says:

    nice post Dany, i can understand what you are talking about specially when you were saying ” to be able to believe that someday I will be able to be more than the just best friends we pretend to be ” 😦

    Thank you for sharing, keep it going 🙂

    • Paola says:

      Hello , I just wanted to clear out that i blogged my story from a friends computer and i accidentally left her name there i don’t know how but i didn’t realize until after it was posted. It hurts a lot less when i know there are people other than me who have to go through what i do. Like you =). Thank u 4 understanding. I wish us the best.

  2. Natalie says:

    Thanks for sharing your blog!! I saw it advertised on one of those “Missing Z” posters.. it stood out bright and yellow, near the Hikma area 🙂 Not quite what I was expecting, but it’s great to read these type of blogs in Lebanon… its voices like yours and others around that will perhaps encourage others to have a more open view on the world and less judgment…little by little, bit by bit. I was appalled to find out the word for “gay” in French is Pede (or something like that)? Which means pedophile, if I’m not mistaken? What is that about? Look forward to read more of your blogs it’s quite interesting…this topic in the midst of the arab world.

    • Paola says:

      Natalie! I just wanted to clear out that i blogged my story from a friends computer and i accidentally left her name there i don’t know how but i didn’t realize until after it was posted. Let me thank YOU for your comment. It gave me that sweet feeling that i was actually heard. I hope that the way you see it really works and that by time our effort does encourage people to open up and be less judgmental. As for the word ” pede” , well as far as i know it has nothing to do with the word pedophile however the majority Do mix homosexuality and pedophilia up. Some pedophiles are homosexuals but that doesn’t make them all the same. Although i really have no strong information about it now im curious. Thank you again i hope to see more of your coments as well. I sure do wish you the best.

  3. Pingback: ست قصص جديدة تتصدى لرهاب المثليين والمثليات في لبنان « Raynbow Media Monitor

  4. Thanks for clarifying, Paola. We have changed the name 🙂

Leave a Reply

