An Outsider


When I was 14, I learned a new word, it was called “ homosexuality “. I toyed around with this word to the best of my abilities, and skimmed the internet for scientific articles, casual people, celebrities and explicit images and videos that naturalized the word in my head. The reason why I was obsessed with it, is that it somehow “ clicked “ with all my emotions and made some sense after all these years of confusion. I never had any supportive parent or friend to reassure me that it’s all perfectly fine and natural. So once, I pulled myself together and, against my better knowledge, spilled to my dad everything I knew. He didn’t take it lightly, what followed was a big feud how I was better off dead, and I ended up beaten, and kicked outside of the house until I lied to him about it.

– Chris

About Raynbow Blog

Raynbow is a nonprofit group that raises awareness and funds to support the lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender (LGBT) movement in Lebanon. The Lebanese LGBT Media Monitor is a project by Raynbow to raise awareness and keep you informed about the latest developments from the LGBT community in Lebanon. Our online store: http://raynbow.net Our blog: http://raynbow.info Our Facebook Page: http://fb.com/LebLGBTmonitor Our Twitter handle @LebLGBTmonitor
This entry was posted in Personal Story and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to An Outsider

  1. THREE says:

    A brave, honest an open share. Sharing is caring 🙂
    I feel you, buddy… and no, nobody is “better off dead” (especially if they’re not violating anybody else’s rights, lives, etc and just wants to be themselves) ❤ Peace ❤

Leave a Reply

