EQUALATHON: Flaws.


“How could anyone ever tell you,
You were anything less than beautiful?” 

Hi, my name is Rita, and I’m a deeply flawed person.

I’m fat, I’m clumsy, and I have huge eyes. I’m a little whiney, and overly dramatic. I’m the world’s biggest procrastinator, I’m almost incapable of sticking to one language per sentence, and I’m stubborn. I move too much when I communicate, and it often comes out as fake.

Despite all that, I have no problem fitting in. Which is odd.

“How could anyone ever tell you,
You were anything less than whole?”

In my school, there’s this man we call Father Charbel, and he is a deeply flawed person.

He has a terrorist-like beard and a devilish grin. He’s a condescending snob, and a hateful hypocrite. He’s mean, and as stubborn as one can get.

Despite all that, he is well-liked at school. Which is annoying.

“How could anyone ever tell you,
You were anything less than beautiful?”

In my country, there’s this man called Antoine, and he is a deeply flawed person.

He’s not especially good looking. He has the most terrible frown, and he is completely heartless. He was single-handedly responsible for some horrible human abuse, and he still refuses to apologize.

Despite all that, people voted him Mayor; and even now, he still has support. Which is absurd.

“How could anyone ever tell you,
You were anything less than whole?”

Out there, there are many people with many names and personalities.

They happen to have certain body parts, and/or they happen to like having partners with certain body parts.

These people are judged, bullied, hated, abused and driven away, every day, based on these facts alone. Which is outraging!

Lebanon, please wake up: it is time to stand up and fight. Don’t you dare settle for a world ruled by hate. Write, draw, argue, scream. Scream louder! Love. Love. Love.

“How could anyone fail to notice,
That your loving is a miracle,
How deeply you’re connected to my soul?”

It is time to search for our rainbow.

By Rita Aoun

Note: The lyrics are from a ballad by Shaina Noll 

This entry was posted in Equalathon and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to EQUALATHON: Flaws.

  1. mimitrans says:

    Rainbow rules :))) I LOVe IT ❤

Leave a Reply

